Warning: Illegal string offset 'html' in /home/nissansi/public_html/forums/cache/skin_cache/cacheid_1/skin_topic.php on line 907
My BOV is crazy loud - Hardtuned.net

My BOV is crazy loud 

4 replies to this topic

#1 s15rocket

• Car:180sx type x

Posted 19 October 2017 - 11:14 PM

Its a turbosmart plumb back. Holy chittt it sounds awesome but its crazyy loud. I just got my car tuned the other day and Ive already scared the hell out of a lot of pedestrians taking off at the lights.

I've owned a few of these cars before, my last s15 was never this loud with the same BOV. But this one is far louder and even more loud than an atmos BOV.

Also off boost there is a crazy amount of flutter. I've never used a POD filter before so maybe that has something to do with it?

Also my 180 has a custom hard metal intake. Does this increase the sound? The bov is located on the hot side and recirculates back in behind the AFM in case anyone was wondering.

Dont get me wrong I love the sound, but it does get alot of attention but im sort of a low key kinda guy and dont like too much attention. Nearly every second person at the lights wants to drag me now just coz they hear the flutter and BOV....gets annoying after a while seeing some P plater YARIS come flying up behind you.

Edited by s15rocket, 19 October 2017 - 11:18 PM.

#2 6330

• Car:S15

Posted 20 October 2017 - 08:27 AM

A pod filter definitely increases induction noise and a metal intake pipe does as well

#3 B00sted180

• Car:180SX

Posted 23 October 2017 - 04:20 PM

My car with the standard air box and plastic induction pipe it 100% quiet. Once I have the metal intake and pod its really loud. Those two things on their own make a huge difference.

#4 pmod

• Car:Fruity 180sx

Posted 24 October 2017 - 07:43 AM

As the others said, a factory airbox will make it a lot quieter, since metal intakes and exposed filters have nothing to dampen the sound.