Jump to content

It's time to say THANKS! Are you a devoted NS/HT Member? If so click here for something special


SR20 oil filter plate on block 

38 replies to this topic

#1 JoeyTA22

  • Joined:12-March 08
  • Location:Australia VIC
  • Car:RA23, R32GTR & 180sx

Posted 29 March 2011 - 06:51 AM

So long story short this happened....

Posted Image

It's the plate that bolts onto the block that the oil filter screws onto. Anyone have a spare they are willing to part with? Need it pretty desperately.


Cheers, Joe

#2 Guest_-SR NRG-_*

Posted 29 March 2011 - 07:13 AM

I got a gazillion pm me and I'll hook you up tonight

#3 JoeyTA22

  • Joined:12-March 08
  • Location:Australia VIC
  • Car:RA23, R32GTR & 180sx

Posted 29 March 2011 - 08:57 AM

F'ing legend.

#4 GFUNK

  • Joined:06-August 07
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:Onevia

Posted 29 March 2011 - 10:25 AM

Seen this happen so many times people using oil coolers that come with a sandwich plate, am I correct in assuming this is the cause?

When buying oil filter relocation kits get one that comes with adapter plate not sandwich plate

#5 MidnightMods

  • Joined:19-December 03
  • Location:Australia VIC

Posted 29 March 2011 - 10:40 AM

Its due to not backing off the thread each oil change, every time you put a new filter on you're tighting the thread more and more... very over looked problem. But best not to use sandwich plates.

#6 Tsuro

  • Joined:17-October 03
  • Location:Australia VIC
  • Car:1999 Subaru MY99 WRX, 1993 Nissan 180SX

Posted 29 March 2011 - 11:13 AM

Time for an oil cooler and relocation plate :D

#7 JoeyTA22

  • Joined:12-March 08
  • Location:Australia VIC
  • Car:RA23, R32GTR & 180sx

Posted 29 March 2011 - 05:08 PM

Gfunk is right on the money, over tigtened the adapter nut and snapped the original thread. All is well now tho, i managed to source one :thumb:

#8 llama_au

  • Joined:03-May 05
  • Location:Australia VIC
  • Car:See signature

Posted 29 March 2011 - 08:48 PM

Haha, same thing happened to me but the thread stayed inside the oil filter. Oops.

#9 SKIDKID

  • Joined:02-April 10
  • Location:Australia TAS
  • Car:96 s14a 200sx

Posted 05 July 2011 - 03:49 PM

how did you go about getting this plate off? im doing a relo kit install soon and looks like i'll have to take the intake manifold off to get to it?

#10 STR8E180

  • Joined:30-April 03
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:GTR R34 V-SPEC

Posted 05 July 2011 - 03:54 PM

that happen to me as well
which is why i converted to one of these

mid night mods has a few in stock i think
send him a pm http://nissansilvia....p?showuser=6435

Posted Image

Posted Image

#11 STR8E180

  • Joined:30-April 03
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:GTR R34 V-SPEC

Posted 05 July 2011 - 03:55 PM

 SKIDKID, on 05 July 2011 - 03:49 PM, said:

how did you go about getting this plate off? im doing a relo kit install soon and looks like i'll have to take the intake manifold off to get to it?
remove the alternator and u will have enough room to get to it
no need to take of the inlet manifold

#12 blingcommander

  • Joined:05-October 06
  • Location:Japan
  • Car:Scooty-Puff Jr.

Posted 05 July 2011 - 04:03 PM

yeah alternator off, easy peasy. any reason you are bumping so many old threads SKIDKID?

#13 STR8E180

  • Joined:30-April 03
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:GTR R34 V-SPEC

Posted 05 July 2011 - 04:04 PM

oh i didnt even know this was an old thread until i just checked the posted date

#14 SKIDKID

  • Joined:02-April 10
  • Location:Australia TAS
  • Car:96 s14a 200sx

Posted 05 July 2011 - 05:27 PM

better than starting a new thread ay bling! and i have a lot of things to install, need the low down on how to do em. thanks guys, i'll be doing the install on the weekend if i can get the oil and filter before Sat.

also can i mount the filter lower than the adapter plate on the block? i was thinking of mounting it near the underside of the car so its very easy to get to and won't leave any drips on the strut tower.

#15 STR8E180

  • Joined:30-April 03
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:GTR R34 V-SPEC

Posted 05 July 2011 - 05:34 PM

 SKIDKID, on 05 July 2011 - 05:27 PM, said:

also can i mount the filter lower than the adapter plate on the block?
Yes u can

#16 SKIDKID

  • Joined:02-April 10
  • Location:Australia TAS
  • Car:96 s14a 200sx

Posted 05 July 2011 - 06:04 PM

thanks, i'll have to see if i can find a good spot for it.

#17 srpremacy

  • Joined:06-September 11
  • Location:Australia VIC

Posted 08 November 2011 - 09:54 PM

 STR8E180, on 05 July 2011 - 05:34 PM, said:

 SKIDKID, on 05 July 2011 - 05:27 PM, said:

also can i mount the filter lower than the adapter plate on the block?
Yes u can
sorry to bump an old thread, just thought itd be better than starting a new thread. im going to install one of these adapters cos my sandwich plate has been leaking like a bitch.
just 2 questions,

1. the bolts in there are seriously fkn stiff, did u guys seriously just use an alan key to get that shit off?
2. the OEM plug (appears to be a sensor of some sort) that goes into the standard plate, what happens to this?

cheers

#18 skd-570

  • Joined:12-September 09
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:sr20det onevia

Posted 08 November 2011 - 11:58 PM

ether use a allen key with a ring spanner as leverage, or get the in-hex 1/2" drive bits that go on your ratchet, make sure its a tight fit or it will round out.


the pressure sensor goes in the new block, there will be 1/8 npt thread on ether side for temp and pressure sensors to go. use the one that is the return into the block for the pressure sensor, as if anything happens to the oil cooler or fittings you will be able to see straight away, otherwise there might still be just enough pressure feeding into the cooler to keep the light out.

good luck.

#19 srpremacy

  • Joined:06-September 11
  • Location:Australia VIC

Posted 09 November 2011 - 10:16 AM

 skd-570, on 08 November 2011 - 11:58 PM, said:

ether use a allen key with a ring spanner as leverage, or get the in-hex 1/2" drive bits that go on your ratchet, make sure its a tight fit or it will round out.


the pressure sensor goes in the new block, there will be 1/8 npt thread on ether side for temp and pressure sensors to go. use the one that is the return into the block for the pressure sensor, as if anything happens to the oil cooler or fittings you will be able to see straight away, otherwise there might still be just enough pressure feeding into the cooler to keep the light out.

good luck.
sweet thanks for that mate managed to get them all off with a spanner on the end of the allen key :thumb:

with the oil pressure sensor, do i need to use the one thats in there? like does it send a signal to the ecu and controls something? i already have an oil pressure gauge and oil temp gauge in the car. i run a power fc. cheers

#20 skd-570

  • Joined:12-September 09
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:sr20det onevia

Posted 09 November 2011 - 02:04 PM

na, the stock sensor just illuminates the warning light on your dash.

its not neccesary if you have gauges to monitor the oil, but more warnings about your oil cant hurt.

#21 greens14

  • Joined:28-July 08
  • Location:Australia VIC

Posted 11 November 2011 - 09:24 PM

I snapped the thread on my oil filter plate tonight. Just deciding whether to get a relo kit off Midnightmods or just get another OEM unit?
If i use the adaptor plate that Midnight sells what do you do with the OEM oil cooler and pipes that sit above the factory plate????

#22 srpremacy

  • Joined:06-September 11
  • Location:Australia VIC

Posted 11 November 2011 - 09:54 PM

 greens14, on 11 November 2011 - 09:24 PM, said:

I snapped the thread on my oil filter plate tonight. Just deciding whether to get a relo kit off Midnightmods or just get another OEM unit?
If i use the adaptor plate that Midnight sells what do you do with the OEM oil cooler and pipes that sit above the factory plate????
http://www.nissansil...howtopic=500889

#23 2gceffy

  • Joined:20-April 05
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:rb25det uras cefiro

Posted 25 March 2012 - 02:21 PM

time to wake up this thread again instead of a new one, my kit has sandwich plate and relo so you dont go near the motor once its on so that would remove the odds of that snapping right ? also i cant for the lift of me find the pic with the oil direction of flow

#24 blingcommander

  • Joined:05-October 06
  • Location:Japan
  • Car:Scooty-Puff Jr.

Posted 25 March 2012 - 02:45 PM

sandwich plates are so shit.

oil flow it outside port to outside port on relocator, then centre port on relocator to cooler, cooler to centre post on engine

#25 ziptie

  • Joined:14-January 09
  • Location:Australia VIC
  • Car:sil80 + a few

Posted 25 March 2012 - 06:38 PM

Yes theyre crap had mine sheer off on the dyno aswell a month ago, dont bother. It will happen and Im just lucky where it happened and was able to be turned off immediatley.

#26 2gceffy

  • Joined:20-April 05
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:rb25det uras cefiro

Posted 26 March 2012 - 06:13 AM

Will order a tune agent one, do they come with o rings ?

#27 antonio

  • Joined:26-September 05
  • Location:Australia VIC
  • Car:S14

Posted 26 March 2012 - 06:44 AM

 2gceffy, on 26 March 2012 - 06:13 AM, said:

Will order a tune agent one, do they come with o rings ?

Off memory No.

#28 MidnightMods

  • Joined:19-December 03
  • Location:Australia VIC

Posted 26 March 2012 - 08:08 AM

You reuse the factory ones or buy new if they are not damaged.

#29 2gceffy

  • Joined:20-April 05
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:rb25det uras cefiro

Posted 26 March 2012 - 09:17 AM

Awesome will do ASAP need to get that on then get my tune

#30 xris

  • Joined:05-November 02
  • Location:Australia VIC

Posted 26 March 2012 - 10:46 AM

Buy new ones old ones tend to leak





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Common Links

  • About Us
  • Privacy Policy
  • User Agreement
  • Help & Support Forums
  • Advertise
  •  

    By your continued use of this site, you agree to follow all Rules & Guidelines and abide by the User Agreement outlined in our Terms & Conditions.

    Hardtuned Network is hosted by Sanity Technology

    Design, Site Management & Hotness provided by Loz.

    Big thanks to all our members and volunteers for making this network what it is today!