Warning: Illegal string offset 'html' in /home/nissansi/public_html/forums/cache/skin_cache/cacheid_1/skin_topic.php on line 907
Prog and rock people - Looking for feedback - Hardtuned.net

Prog and rock people - Looking for feedback 

11 replies to this topic

#1 Spazo

• Car:JDM S15

Posted 24 January 2014 - 12:53 AM

I know it's a quiet forum but I know there are a few progressive/metal fans here.

Anyway I'll get to the point. I've never done this before but I want to know what people think of my new band and band name (Bubblemen). Call this market research. What do you like? What don't you like? What's missing? Be as specific as you like.

The samples posted are just rough drafts we recorded with 2 condenser mics in my practice room, we don't sound tight because we haven't rehearsed them much at this point in time.

You can be as honest as you want, I will take opinions with a grain of sand.

https://soundcloud.c...ng-3-very-rough

https://soundcloud.c...en-song-4-draft

The thick of it: I've joined and left 2 very average bands over the past 2 years or so and I only joined them really to gain experience. The experience has been fun but also a bit sobering and now that I understand that there really isn't much of a music scene (or $$$) for live bands, I just want to play in a band that I'm proud of and that's well received by the people that count. This band I think has potential in that they're pretty good musicians and smart guys but if I'm honest with myself, I don't know if what they've written so far is something people would actually want to listen to, or watch on stage. My initial reaction was that it has too many changes and some of the melodies are a bit silly (like dream theater or something) but having spent time with the music I've grown to like it so my opinion and a first time listeners opinion drift further apart as time goes on.

Thanks to anyone that answers.

Edited by Spazo, 24 January 2014 - 12:57 AM.

#2 TheApothecary