Jump to content

It's time to say THANKS! Are you a devoted NS/HT Member? If so click here for something special


cheap frequency switch launch control 

5 replies to this topic

#1 AnDiiStyLe

  • Joined:07-October 11
  • Location:Australia ACT
  • Car:Nissan 180sx

Posted 25 March 2012 - 09:52 PM

just finishing up the wiring on the jaycar frequency switch for a launch control.

just wondering where the input line is supposed to go?
according to the diagram its supposed to go onto the negative terminal of the coil?

if i have read correctly, you pretty much can only have it on one cylinder which doesnt fire, which means rev limiting.
but isnt limiting in just one cylinder bad? cause it burns up the valve unevenly and the oil gets burnt up in one valve.
but limiting in alternating cylinders gives the valves and cylinders a chance to pump oil and radiate heat a bit more?

so yea, ive hooked up the rest of the kit, including grounds, power and switch, just need to connect to the input negative coil.
and i dont know which one that exactly is lol.

has anyone used these types of rev limiting and are there any bad side effects to this particular type?
and am i supposed to splice into it or....?

heres a website for it.

http://code.google.c...i/LaunchControl

(input wire on bottom left of second picture is what i dont know where to connect to)
(on coil (rpm))

Attached Thumbnails

  • Attached Image: jaycar diagram.jpg
  • Attached Image: swit ch.jpg


#2 R32GTRS

  • Joined:24-August 09
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:RB25 R32gtst

Posted 25 March 2012 - 09:57 PM

tears, this will end in

#3 MidnightMods

  • Joined:19-December 03
  • Location:Australia VIC

Posted 26 March 2012 - 04:47 AM

How does you car run on oil?

#4 OLDATO

  • Joined:16-September 05
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:Datsun Stanza, 180sx SR20DET, Datsun Stanza Coupe

Posted 27 March 2012 - 04:27 PM

Ok here is where you have gone wrong, you are reading it as "Switching a coil" and your car (assuming 1 coil pack per cylinder) has 4 coils - so you are thinking "I can only switch one of them"

Instead you should be switching the power that goes to ALL of the coils - Without looking at a wiring diagram for a motor - I am assuming all 4 coil packs are powered from one source. So you need to switch that wire.

Simply cut that wire and connect the 2 ends you now have from cutting to 'common' and 'N.C' (normally closed) then when RPM is reached, it will disconnect power to all 4 coils, fuel will continue to flow, no spark = rev limiter.

Edited by OLDATO, 27 March 2012 - 04:28 PM.


#5 OLDATO

  • Joined:16-September 05
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:Datsun Stanza, 180sx SR20DET, Datsun Stanza Coupe

Posted 27 March 2012 - 04:30 PM

Also - don't connect "earth" to the "N.O" - you will cook your power supply to the coils fuse.

Or you could just switch the GROUND wire instead of the power wire.


p.s: A car does not have an "Earth"
Earth = The planet earth, a zero reference point for AC circuits.
Ground = The negative terminal in a DC circuit
Chasis / Ground = your car chasis which is connected to the negative terminal in a DC circuit.

Edited by OLDATO, 27 March 2012 - 04:31 PM.


#6 AnDiiStyLe

  • Joined:07-October 11
  • Location:Australia ACT
  • Car:Nissan 180sx

Posted 27 March 2012 - 07:53 PM

View PostOLDATO, on 27 March 2012 - 04:30 PM, said:

Also - don't connect "earth" to the "N.O" - you will cook your power supply to the coils fuse.

Or you could just switch the GROUND wire instead of the power wire.


p.s: A car does not have an "Earth"
Earth = The planet earth, a zero reference point for AC circuits.
Ground = The negative terminal in a DC circuit
Chasis / Ground = your car chasis which is connected to the negative terminal in a DC circuit.

hm.. if ive read right, your saying that i should put this circuit in between the 12v power supply line to the coils.

reffering to my picture in OP;
connect ground and 12v as normal,

cut power supply cable going into the coils,
now place the end leading towards ecu to COM
and place end towards the coils side to N.O

what goes to the input terminal? and where should the hand switch to activate the limiter on?

Edited by AnDiiStyLe, 27 March 2012 - 08:03 PM.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Common Links

  • About Us
  • Privacy Policy
  • User Agreement
  • Help & Support Forums
  • Advertise
  •  

    By your continued use of this site, you agree to follow all Rules & Guidelines and abide by the User Agreement outlined in our Terms & Conditions.

    Hardtuned Network is hosted by Sanity Technology

    Design, Site Management & Hotness provided by Loz.

    Big thanks to all our members and volunteers for making this network what it is today!