Sign in to follow this  
drftps13=D

Ca18de - det

hi,

curious, can i bolt on a turbo to my current ca18de?

or do i have to buy the whole thing (ca18det) new engine??

thanks

do a search :rolleyes:

yes and no, lots of things to do if you want to turbo a DE motor, so i'd say no coz it's easier/cheaper to buy a DET.

Yeah I'd suggest just buying a CADET instead. Although if your budget is fairly limited and you only want to run a little bit of boost you could probably do it. Just remember you don't just slap a turbo on. You have to have things like new manifold, new dump pipe, intercooler and piping plus the turbo. And that's the bare minimum. Maybe try and find some wreckers with a ca18det that you can just rip the standard parts off. Although I can't be 100% sure that it'll all fit as I've never done this before.

save us, and yourself the time. just go buy a DET engine, or stick with the de, because it will cost you just as much to make ur de a de+T

Hey i have a DET which i wanna hold off on rebuilding for now but i also got two DE's... If i Use my DET Exhaust manifold, Stock t25, Stock S13 cooler, perhaps DET injectors can i bolt it on and drive it till she blows... should i look at lowering compression or will it be ok at standard boost...?

I picked a complete DE engine up for $100 yesturday and plan to put it in till i finish rebuilding the Other DE

Before everyone says Use the DET that is being saved for my 1600 so i was only gonna use a DE for a daily driver in the bluebird... but after driving my mates 180Bsss with carby-fed L20 Turbo i wanna boost this too

Please let me know what parts i should use cause i can take DET parts if i need to...

Can the one thats goin in be used with a decompression plate or something and when i build the other DE i can use the stock DET pistons to lower comp... is it needed or will it overheat with the wron compression and be shit...