Sign in to follow this  
definition

Some Brief Noob Questions - S15

Hi guys, I have recently bought a 200sx S15, it was pretty much stock as a rock. I have searched far and wide and can't find specific answers to my questions, they are a bit noobish, but im still learning about s15s :P

- 200sx vs Silvia - I understand there is a big power difference in the two due to the turbo being bush vs ball bearing and the tune and injectors, however, I don't quite understand how there can be an almost 40kw difference between the two. What basic mods would make a 200sx as quick as a silvia?

- Intercooler - I have a stock intercooler on it, is there any risk of damage running 10-13psi on the stock intercooler? Or is it more of a thing that hinders performance?

Current mods:

full 3 inch exhaust

boost restrictor removed

Sorry again about the noobish questions, and thanks heaps in advance :)

both pretty much the same cars. Once boosted up to the same boost they make the same power anyways.

For stock intercooler i wouldnt run anything above 10psi. only cos the stock core is pretty small and doesnt get too much air. if u go front mount kit, then you can run 12 - 14psi if u want.

A Silvia and a 200sx are the same car, my Adm S15 is badged as a Silvia but says 200sx on the rego papers. You're asking about the differences between Adm and Jdm, Jdms run a more aggressive tune and 10psi boost as opposed to 7psi on the Adm, injectors are the same 450cc but jdm run at higher base fuel pressure to make them 480cc.

The turbos are the same T28 there's just a handful that came with the ball bearing type, they both make the same peak power there's just a slight difference in spool up time.

The first thing I did when I got my car was up the boost to about 12psi and ran like that for ages without a problem