Sign in to follow this  
Purple-monkey

macro lenses

Hey guys,

As I have already stated I am a fairly noob when it comes to photography and i have been reading up on some macro cameras.

Basically my lense kit comprises of the 18-55 f3.5-5.6 and the 55-250 f4-5.6, the basic twin IS kit.

I am looking into expanding my collection at the moment and buying some filters and a new macro lense and am making this topic to find out some information from you guys.

What I am wanting is a lense where i can take some real close up shots of some bugs, spiders, leaves. I have been searching the net for the last few hours and getting a fair bit of info, but I want to know your views on a nicely priced but half decent macro lense.

I would love the canon 180mm but it's a bit out of my price range at the moment so i was looking at the 100mm canon. However the tamron and sigma have a 180mm which is around the $1000 mark.

So what are your thoughts??

For $1200 get yourself the new canon 100mm L lens or for $650-750 the older model which is still one of the canons sharpest lens.

I have used the 180mm marco lens and its damn good, but sometimes too big and heavy. You will need a tripod.

If i was you I would get the 100mm L marco lens. Remember for proper marco shots you will also need external flashes (proper macro ring flash), as well as know about marco focusing. Look it up.

Here are some shots with the 180mm marco lens.

20100523113753_img_9180_resize.jpg

20100523181119_img_9175_resize.jpg

IMG_9234_resize.jpg

IMG_2658_resize.jpg

etc etc etc etc..

For $1200 get yourself the new canon 100mm L lens or for $650-750 the older model which is still one of the canons sharpest lens.

I have used the 180mm marco lens and its damn good, but sometimes too big and heavy. You will need a tripod.