Sign in to follow this  
Robert137

Buy an S13 to learn? looking for ADVICE! - NOT USUAL QUESTION

Hey guys, new to nissan silvia and just looking for a bit of advice..

ive been on here while but never really made any posts.

im thinking about buying a S13(possibly r32) and doing a lot of DIY work just to learn a bit and understand how they work. Im new diy work and have never really done much with cars. im a young apprentice electrician, so im not exactly loaded with cash.

but im very interested in engine/mechanical sort of work and its something id love to do as a lifelong hobby.

bit of a weird question but here goes:

should I look for a cheap, running S13, not exacty in top engine condition, and learn to do a bit of DIY sort of stuff myself? Or should I spend a little more in looking for a good s13 that’s more reliable and then do it up myself,?

other thing is, or should I buy an R32 (Rb20), play with that and learn a little bit; and then eventually swap an SR into it? ;).…- doesn’t seem to be too many around and probably not experienced to that but R32’s are becoming harder to find and I just thought that would be a way to have an older/unique sort of car with an awesome setup.

(car will be more a weekender and project…. But cant be an absolute lemon that it wont run and be rendered undrivaeable lol)

ps, im new so don’t flame me, just looking for a bit of advice :)

thanks guys!

I'd buy one that works, straight up. From experience, if you buy someones shitbox, you can end up spending more money just chasing dumb problems. If you know ONE thing is broken/damaged/whatever, you might find every nut and bolt from there to the back of the car is loose, threaded, stripped, yeah. You spend as much time chasing dumb shit as you do fixing major problems.