Sign in to follow this  
1zz-fze

Custom intercooler and piping plus general fab

Hey guys just thought I would share where I'm at with my car.

I started off doing a simple bolt on turbo swap but when looking at intercooler kits I couldn't decide which one was best for my application. I saw a few of the guys on here make their own "in-bay" intercoolers so I decided to give it a go.

All the work on my car I have done myself at home and most of the fab and welding I do at work as I'm an apprentice pipe fitter/welder.

Will throw some pics up later tonight.

Cheers

really, i thought it was big compared to some of the ones ive seen in the shops. i used baffles and stainless swarf inside and it doesn't seem that restrictive, but ill look into it a bit more.

thanks

Ok, thanks for the info. I mainly want to run one because I noticed the intake pipe was a little bit oily inside. The company I work for has a valve shop aswell so they should be able to sus out the flow of the can etc..

Cheers mate

Figured out the turbo side piping today. just a quick question, what are you guys using on the end of the pipes to stop the silicon joiners coming off? Can you just run a bead around the end?

i just add some weld, not always the entire way around, you probably dont need to with custom piping because it should fit perfect, but i do anyway

Edited by R32GTRS

Ahh yeh I've seen that done before, just don't like the look of it so ill have to hide it some how..

well no the pro way is to use wiggins clamps... looks pro and will never blow off ever.

Yeh they look good, I already have the silicon joiners though.

I did the exact same thing a few years ago on my old S15, worked really well, just make sure you shroud the sides, so the air can't bypass the rad. I used 90 degree silicone reducing bends for the pipework into the cooler, made it really easy and direct, and weren't hard to find. All steel pipes were lobsterback :) I don't have any pics tho unfortunately